SIXTH IASSH CONFERENCE
ON
HEALTH,EQUITY AND HUMAN RIGHTS
MARCH 7
th & 8th 2009
LIST OF ABSTRACTS ACCEPTED FOR ORAL PRESENTION

1.K. E. Vaidyanathan: Persons with Disabilities in India: Socio-economic Differentials and their Implications vaidyake@hotmail.com
2.Asharaf Abdul Salam:Conceptualizing a Geriatric Care Facilityasharaf_a@hotmail.com
3.Reetu Sharma: Ensuring Maternal and Child Health through Inter-sectoral convergence between Health and Nutrition Programsreetu_gem1678@yahoo.com
4.Disha Tewari,Dr.Niyati Joshi:Fatherhood, Infant deaths, MDG goals, Population Polocy achievements in India: An analysis of NFHS-3tewaridisha@rediffmail.com
5.Mailud El-Amari, Asharaf Abdul Salam and Om Prakash Lathwal:Mortality Transition and Health System’s Development in Libyaasharaf_a@hotmail.com
6.Dr U V Somayajulu**, Dr. Tilak Mukherji:Equity in Health : Emerging Issuessomayajulu.uv@sigma-india.in
7.Shish Kumar Mishra,& A. K. SharmaSOCIETY, SELF IMAGE AND RISK: A STUDY OF MSM COMMUNITY IN MUMBAIarunk@iitk.ac.in
8.Ms. MAMTA SINGH &Ms. NEHA CHAUDHARY:Gender difference and women health: a study of Varanasimamtasinghbhu@gmail.com
9.Dr. Sharifa Begum:Maternal Health Care in Bangladesh: Current Status and Future Challenges sharifa@sdnbd.org
10.Aishvarya Upadhyay & Priyanka singhThe condition of elderly in family in the present era: A sociological studyparithemagic@gmail.com
11.Dr.Vighnesh N. Bhat:Some Conceptual Issues concerning Health and Human Rightsvighnubhat@rediffmail.com
12.Rajeev Kumar Singh & ZiyauddiProblem of Sanitation and Manual Scavenging in India: A Case Study of Ghazipur Districtziyasocio@gmail.com
13.Dr. H.S. Nagi:Reducing Maternal Mortality and Morbidity by Mainstreaming Equity and Human Rightsbkhardeep@yahoo.com
14.Dr. M. V. Vaithilingam:LEVELS, AND TRENDS of EARLY CHILDHOOD MORTALITY IN SOUTH INDIAN STATES vaidhya_iips@rediffmail.com
15.Sanjeev Kumar& Vikas ShardeThe Economic and Security of HIV/AIDS Effected Families: A Case Study of Eastern U.P.sanjeev.socio@gmail.com
16.Prof. C. P. Prakasam:Women empowerment and its consequence on Reproductive Health care in Selected States: NFHS-3 Data analysis.c_prakasam@yahoo.com
17.Dr. A. K. Ravishankar,Dr. S. Ramachandran& Dr. A. SubbiahPrevalence of Chronic Energy Deficiency and its consequence on Children’s Nutritional status among the marginalized group in India akravishankar@sify.com
18.Dr. Sibnath Deb &Ms. Subhasis Modak:Violence Against Children in Agartala, Tripurasibnath23@rediffmail.com
19.Dr. Vijayan K Pillai: Reproductive health and human rights in developing countriesdrpillai@yahoo.com
20.Mr.HIMANSHU SEKHAR ROUTGENDER AND HOUSEHOLD HEALTH EXPENDITURE IN ORISSA hsrout1970@gmail.com
21.MISS T. SUBBA LAKSHMI HOUSEHOLD HEALTH EXPENDITURES ANALYSIS IN YANAM REGION, INDIA tsleco@yahoo.com
22.Dr. Manju S.Nair:Socio-economic differentials in health status in Indiameetmanjunaidu@yahoo.com
23.Dr. V. M. Sarode:DOES ILLITERACY INCREASES REPRODUCTIVE TRACT INFECTION AMONG WOMEN IN SLUMS IN GREATER MUMBAIvijaymsarode@yahoo.com
24.Sangram Kumar Rout& P. Moorthy:Political Issues and Corruption in Health Sector: The Case of Indiasangramkumarrout@gmail.com
25.T.B. Singh,R.N. Mishra,Ajay Singh& A.K. Gulati:Risk factors of vertical transmission among children attending the ICTC BHU Varanasitbsinghbiostat@gmail.com
26.P. MurugesanA Progressive Maternal Health Care Programmes in Tamil Nadu: An Evidence from NFHS-3aasai_muru@yahoo.com
27.Dr.T K JoshiPROMOTING OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH FOR COMBATING WORKERS’ VULNERABILITY TO ILL HEALTHkantjoshi@gmail.com
28.Ms.S.Kamalaveni:Advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights of among adolescent women s.kamalaveni@yahoo.com
29.Dr. Sunita ReddyMedical Tourism in India: Issues of Ethics and Equitysunita_iit@yahoo.co.uk
30.Anish T S,Vijayakumar K,Leela Itty Amma K R, Diya Rachel George:Deprived among marginalized – Health status of women in a tribal settlementdoctrinets@gmail.com
31.C. RamanadhaswamyHEALTHCARE PRACTICES AND SOCIO-CULTURAL CHANGES OF MALAYALI TRIBES IN TAMIL NADUcrswamee@gmail.com
32.Dr. A.P. Deshpande& Dr.C.P.PrakasamHealth and Economic conditions of Elderly in a Metropolis: Mumbaiapdesh44@yahoo.co.in
33.Pradeep K. Mishra &Dr. N.K.Mahakud:Social Environment and Adolescent Health: A Case Study of the Juangs of Orissa nmahakud@gmail.com
34.Ms.Shilpi Tiwari:Health Problems during Pregnancy and Health Seeking Behaviour among Married Women in Uttar Pradeshtiwari_shilpi1982@rediffmail.com
35.Ruby Alambusha& N.K. Singh:Child Marriage: A study on its differential in Rajasthanrubyalambusha@gmail.com
36.Dr. M. DOSS:Healthy Adolescent Life through Effective Health Education dcedoss@yahoo.co.in
37.Dr. N. Audinarayana**:Public Health Facilities and their Role in the Utilization of Selected Maternal and Child Health Services in Indian States: Insights from DLHS-RCH, 2002-2004 Data audinarayana.bu@gmail.com
38.Mr. Radhakrishnan& Dr U V Somayajulu:Sexual Behaviour of MSM and HIV/AIDS Concerns : Analysis of National BSSs.radhakrish@gmail.com
39.Dr.Alok Chantia & Dr.Preeti Misra:Status Of Marginalised Women And Health - A Survey Of Dhankut Women Of District Bahraich, Uttar Pradeshalokchantia@rediffmail.com
40.Dr.Preeti Misra & Dr.Alok Chantia:Gender Discrimination, Women’s Health And Access To Health Services- A Critical Evaluationmisra9_us@yahoo.com
41.Ms.R.Priya & Dr. V .Raji Sugumar:Nutritional Status and Menstrual Discomforts among College Students in Puducherryr_ priyaa83@yahoo.co.in
42.Dr.Vandana Bhattacharya :Nutritional status and Health implication of ongoing Nutrition Transition in India vandanabhattacharya@rediffmail.com
43.Dr.K N M Raju:Health Expenses in Rural Karnatakarajuknm@yahoo.com
44.S. Ramachandran, A.Subbiah & A.K.Ravishankar:Health Status of India’s Population: A Gender Approachsrampondy@gmail.com
45.Dr.Balaiah Donta & D D Naik:Enhancing Involvement of Men in Reproductive Health: An Intervention Strategy in Slums of Mumbaibdonta2007@yahoo.co.in
46.Dr.K.Gangadharan:Disparities in Maternal and Child Health in India Present Scenario and Future Optionsdrkgangadharan@gmail.com
47.Dr. Siddharth Agarwal, Dr. Aradhana Srivastava & Ms. Monisha Vaid:Maternal and Child Health of the Urban Poor in India – Implications for Achieving the MDGssiddharth@uhrc.in
48.Ms.R. Gokula Priya:A STUDY ON THE ABORTION SEEKERS IN PONDICHERRY REGIONrgp_79@yahoo.co.in
49.Dr.K.Govandarajalu:HEALTH STATUS AND GOVERNMENT EXPENDITURE ON HEALTH CARE PROVISION IN INDIA krishg2@yahoo.co.in
50.Ms.Amrita Das:MATERNAL & CHILD HEALTH CARE PRACTICES :A SUDY IN SOME SELECTED VILLAGES OF BOLANGIR DISTRICT,ORISSAamritadas_orissa@yahoo.com
51.Ms.Shraddha Srivastava,Amarnath Tripathi & A. R. Prasad:Regional Heterogeneity in Food Consumption and Nutrition Intake in Indiashraaddha.srivastava22@gmail.com
52.Ms.Anindita Choudhury:The Green -Eyed Monster: Understanding the Meaning of Jealousy in Romantic Relationshipaninditachwdhry@gmail.com
53.Mr.Baladeb Purohit:LIFE SKILL EDUCATION FOR REPRODUCTIVE AND SEXUAL HEALTH OF ADOLOSCENTSpurohit.baladeb@gmail.com
54.G.Sathis Kumar & S.RamaswamyRefugees’ Health and Human Rights: A Review of International Lawsindiansathis@gmail.com
55.Mr.K.P.Vipin ChandranHUNGER AND MALNUTRITION AMONG INDIAN CHILDREN AND MDGs: ISSUES AND OPTIONSkpvipinchandran@gmail.com
56.Mr.Sanjeev Bakshi Health at Old Ages in India: Statistical Exposition of Its Socio-Cultural and Gender Dimensionsbakshisanjeev@gmail.com
57.Mr.A.Jegan,Poverty and Health Sector inequalities in Indiajegannuepa@gmail.com
58.Dr.Rekha GuptaRole of Education In Health In Indiarekhaeco@gmail.com
59.Mr.Sarit Kumar RoutReaching Health to the Poor: The Supply side Constraints in Orissasaritrout@rediffmail.com
60.Dr.Devendra Kothari,Managing Health of Young People by Involving Community: Lessons from the “Aadhar” Experimentkotharid@mipd.in
61.Ms.Shagufa Kapadia,Urvi Shah & N. Rajaram How Gender Sensitive is the College Youth in Baroda City?kgshagufa@yahoo.com
62.Krisnamurthy.A. and Muniappan.PMaternal Morbidity and Mortality in Tamil Nadu muniappandemo@yahoo.co.in
63.Dr Sharmistha BhattacharjeeChild labour in India: a health and human rights perspectivesharmistha121@gmail.com
64.Ms.Uriv Shah & Rajnikant Patel:MATERNAL MORBIDITY IN INDIAurvi2301@gmail.com
65.Mrs. K.KayathriAnaemia in young Girls of pondicherrykayathri_rk@yahoo.com
66.Dr.K Vijayanthimala :Child welfare programmes : Pros and Conskvjmala@yahoo.co.in
67.Mr.M. Ganesan, Suma Prashanth and Meenakshi Gautham,Human Rights and Rural Health Providers’ Access to Health Informationganesan@tenet.res.in
68.Dr. A.M. Elizabeth & Mr. Sheri Raj :Impacts of Biosocial factors on morbidity among children aged under-5 in Orissa.amsheeba@yahoo.com
69.Ms.K.GAYATHRIMEDICAL TOURISM AND ITS NEGATIVE IMPACT ON THE RURAL PRIMARY HEALTH CARE TO THE POOR FAMILIES IN RURAL INDIAjeeapril@gmail.com
70.Dr.M.Jeyarathnam & S.Kausalya:Gender Inequalities in Health Status and Health carekausiseenu2003@gmail.com
71.Mr.Rajaram K E T & Dr.R.K SinhaSexual Morbidity and treatment seeking behaviour among clients of sex workersrajaramaket@yahoo.co.in
72.Prof. T. Rajaretnam:Gender Differences in Child Health Care in the Indian Statestrajaretnam@gmail.com
73.Ms.Shivani RawatCARE OF THE ELDERLY IN THE ERA OF GLOBALIZATION(A Sociological Study of Institutionalised Elderly)shivani_rawat9@yahoo.co.in
74.Sudam PadhanSOCIO-ECONOMICS & RELIGIOUS ASPECT OF HEALTH CARE AMONG THE RURAL PEOPLE OF INDIA: A STUDY IN SOME SELECTED VILLAGES OF BOLANGIR DISTRICT, ORISSA.sudam_thedevotee4554@rediffmail.com
75.Dr.N.Dhanabaghyam:Family life education in schools - An outlookdrdhan@rediffmail.com
76.Dr. K. Anbu:GENDER DISPARITY IN CHILD HEALTH CARE IN INDIA: A REVIEW OF FACTS FOR CORRECTIVE ACTIONanbucovai@gmail.com
77.Prof. P.M Nanda & P.R. Sahoo:THE SACRED GROVE COMPLEX: DIVERSITY IN ETHNO-MEDICINAL TOURISMpiyusa@gmail.com
78.Dr. Vishal Desai.& Naik V:Comparative study on quality of health care services for the Goan and migrants population at pratap-nagar,Goadrvishalmph@gmail.com
79.Subir Biswas & Ganesh Chandra Mallick:Gender Equity in Nutrition and Sex Differences in Growth among Rajbansis of North Bengalgargisubir@gmail.com
80.Dr. Y.L. Tekhre & Prof. Alka Sharma:Issues of Health Related Human Rightsyade_lal@yahoo.co.in
81.Dr. Pradeep Kumar ParidaCommunity Health Management During Natural Disasterspradeepparida2003@yahoo.com
82.Dr. P. Mohanachandran Nair Ageing Morbidity in Keralapmohanachandran@yahoo.com
83.Dr.Shikha DixitThe Socio-cultural Context of Health Intervention: An Analysis Based on Collective Meaningsshikha@iitk.ac.in
84.Dr.G.Baradha & D.VijayaraniGENDER SENSITISATION- RMEDIAL MEASURE FOR INEQUALITY IN HEALTH STATUS OF RURAL PEOPLEsimniprakash@yahoo.com
85.Deepshikha TaraiAutonomy of women and Ante Natal Care:A Comparative study of Two Indian statesdeepshikha.tarai@gmail.com
86.Dr. Mohammad AkramHEALTH EQUITY: MEANING, SCOPE AND CHALLENGESakram_soc@yahoo.co.in
87.Dr. Suguna M RaoPranic Healing as a complementary and holistic healing techniquesugunamrao@gmail.com
88.Dr.N.RajaniRajiv Arogyasri –An innovative health intervention of Andhra Pradeshrajni_reddi@yahoo.com
89.Aarushi Bhatnagar and Krishna Dipankar RaoAchieving Millennium Development Goals for Maternal and Child Health in India – The Role of Human Resources in Healthaarushi.bhatnagar@phfi.org
90.Mr M.Maheshwar and D.Raghunatha RaoNUTRITION RELATED TOPICS IN PRINT MEDIA: A COMPARITIVE ANALYSIS OF LEADING NEWSPAPERSmaheswarnin@yahoo.com
91.Pushpa Trivedi & Archana PatankarMonetary Burden of the Health Effects of Air Pollution in Mumbai: Implications for Poverty, Equity and Public Healthtrivedi@hss.iitb.ac.in
92.Ujwala Bapat, Sushmita Das, Neena Shah More,David Osrin, Sarah Barnett, Anthony Costello, Armida FernandezInequalities in maternity care and newborn mortality among slum residents in Mumbai: a prospective studycinh.community@gmail.com
93.Somenath BhattacharjeeDISPLACEMENT AND ITS SOCIO-CULTURAL IMPLICATIONS ON HEALTHbhattacharjee_somenath@rediffmail.com
94.Sasmita Jena and Prof. M.D. VemuriDETERMINANTS OF WOMEN MALNUTRITION IN ORISSA: EVIDENCE FROM NFHS-III DATA.sasmitajona@gmail.com
95.KAVITHA.VREPRODUCTIVE HEALTH AWARENESS AMONG RURAL WOMEN IN KERALAkavithavinoj@yahoo.com
96.Kayal vihzhi.V. M.&Dr Josephine NirmalaAN ANALYTICAL STUDY OF FERMETED NUTRITIOUS INDIAN FOODkayal8006@gmail.com
97.Neelanjana PandeyDoes better Accessibility Ensures Equity in health and health care?neelanjana.p@gmail.com
98.KATHIRESAN. LSocio-Cultural Changes and Healthcare Practices of Malayali Tribes in Kalrayan Hills, Tamil Nadukadir.jnu@gmail.com
99.Jagannath BeheraGENDER DISPARITY TRENDS IN CHILD MORTALITY IN INDIA: Evidences from National Family Health SurveysJagannath_jnu@yahoo.co.in
100.Anns IssacEnvironmental Health and Sanitation: An exploration into Kerala’s experienceannsissac@gmail.com
101.G.A. UmadeviGENDER INEQUALITIES IN HEALTH STATUS AND HEALTH CAREga_umasuri@rediffmail.com
102.Dr. Srimati NayakGENDER INEQUITY IN HEALTH CARE : A CRITICAL ANALYSISsri1003@rediffmail.com
103.CHITRA.S.NAIRMARGINALISATION AND IT’S IMPACT ON HEALTHCARE OF THE ELDERLYhighnet_net@yahoo.com
104.M Hanimi Reddy and Manish KumarGender Differentials in Knowledge, Attitude and Behaviour (KAB) of Adolescents and Parents about Delaying of Age at Marriage and Nutrition Related Issues, in Jharkhandhreddy@intrahealth.org
105.Sarita Patil, Maya Porel, Neena Shah More & Dr.Armida FernandezImproving women’s health in India: human rights and ethical dimensionscinh.community@gmail.com
106.Harinam SinghCommunity-Wise Differences in Maternal Mortality in Uttar Pradeshharinam_4a41@rediffmail.com
107.Prasanta PathakVulnerability of Kolkata Slum Population in Financial Managing of Health Problems prasanta.pathak@gmail.com
108.Dr. Nafeez S.Umar&Dr. Biranchi N.JenaMedical emergencies pertaining to two wheelers accidents: a study from Andhra Pradeshshaiknafeez_umar@emri.in
109.Shrdha Shrivastava Ethno medicine among Munda tribe: An alternative path for ensuring equity healthsh_shri05@yahoo.co.in
110.Dr. B.P. ThiagarajanUNDERSTANDING THE EMERGENCE OF PRIVATE HEALTH INSURANCE IN INDIAponnambala.thiagarajan@nielsen.com
111.Bhairu Lal Yadav & Dharmendra SharmaREIDENTIFIED DISTRIBUTION OF HIV IN INDIA:PROBLEMS AND RESPONSEbhairulal81@yahoo.co.in
112.Disha TewariIMNCI towards Realizing MDG Goal: Taking Childcare to the Doorsteps of Community in the Shivpuri District of Madhya Pradeshtewaridisha@rediffmail.com
113.P. RamachandranGender Disparities in Elderly Survival in Selected States of Indiapaidaprr@rediffmail.com
114.Lekha T.RNATIONAL RURAL HEALTH MISSION: A KERALA SCENARIOjohnsonmuthuplackl@gmail.com
115.Dr. B. Ratna Kumari & Dr. K. Mary SujathaNRHM- Progress:A Case Study of Rural Health Centre (Simhachalam) of Visakhapatnam District in A.Pratna_cws@hotmail.com
116.Poornima K, Kripa K, Gopalan T.RNUTRITIONAL STATUS OF DIFFERENTLY ABLED CHILDRENonlykripz@yahoo.co.in
117.Sarda PrasadFactors Affecting Morbidity Pattern between Male and Female in India:A Comparative Study of Rural and Urban Residentssardaprasadk@gmail.com
118.Agarwal Rachna & Jayaraman GirijaPULOMNARY HEALTH STATUS AMONGST BIO-FUELS DEPENDENT SUBURBAN INDIAN POPULATIONrachna_india@yahoo.com
119.H.C .SrivastavaNational Rural Health Mission: An Overview of the Salient Featuresharish_srivastava@hotmail.com
120.Soumitra GhoshUtilization of healthcare services in India: do education and income matter?soumitraiips@gmail.com
121.Dr.Suresh SharmaSex Differentials in Child Health and Nutritional Statussuresh@iegindia.org
122.V. SelvarajuAccess and Financing of Maternal Health Care in Indiakvselva@yahoo.com
123.Pradeep K. Mishra & Manjushree MishraMaternal Complications and Birth Outcomes: An overview from KBK district of Odishapkmishra@careindia.org
124.Manjushree Mishra & Pradeep MishraPoverty Alleviation and NGO Intervention: Alternative Development Policy Approach in Context of Odishapkmishra@careindia.org
125.Smt. Pushpam. MChanging Healthcare System and its impact on Tribal Community: A Case of Keralapushpasocio@gmail.com
126.Dr.K S JamesUrbanisation, Gender and HealthA quantitative investigation on its interrelationship in Indiajames@isec.ac.in
127.Ms.Usha R,Ms. Nisha Jagdish,Ms. Armin J. Neogi,Dr. Kalpana Apte & Mr.V.M. KoliwadLiving as a HIV positive person: A Human Rights Perspective(Experiences from Madurai Districtusha@fpaindia.org
128.Sivasakthi Devi.T and S. GurunathanAdverse Health and Socio Economic Consequences of Environmental Pollution: A Case of Dyeing Industry Effluents Pollution in Karur District of Tamil Nadugurunath007@email.com
129.Mr. T.W.M.T.W.Bandara & Dr.V.Madha SureshThe Impact of Rural Poverty on Human Development in Kandy District in Sri Lanka: A case Study from a Village in Udadumbarasureshgeography@gmail.com
130.P.B.SHANKAR NARAYANGENDER INEQULATIES IN HEALTH CARE DELIVERIEScarlshanan@yahoo.co.in
131.Dr.Nora EngelFlexibility and innovation in response to emerging infectious diseases: Reactions to multi-drug resistant Tuberculosis in Indiaengel@merit.unu.edu
132.DR.C.SATHEESH KUMARHEALTH CARE IN URBAN SLUM COMMUNITYsatheeshsw@gmail.com
133.Ranvir SinghGIS in Health Management Information System: A case study of Delhiranvir.jnu@gmail.com
134.Jayanta Kumar BasuShift in sexual behavior among unmarried male college students of Maharashtra, India: need action now to tackle this worrisome trendjayanta14@yahoo.com
135.T. S. SyamalaDo Health Workers at the periphery Equipped to Provide Primary Health Care in Tribal Areas?Evidences from Tribal Andhra Pradesh:syamala@isec.ac.in
136.G.M. SubbaRao,Sudershan R.V and Kalpagam PolasWomen and household food safety in India – Some inferences from a nation-wide studygmsubbarao@yahoo.com
137.Dr. Satish KumarSocial Determinants of Health and Inequalities in health caresakumar@unicef.org
138.Swapna, Muthulakshmi.G, Dr.Hemamalini.A.J, & Gopalan.T.RDOES LOW BODY MASS INDEX LEAD TO LOW BIRTH WEIGHT INFANTgmuthul@yahoo.com
139.Mr.Narendra Kumar Dundu,Reaching the Out of School Adolescents with Reproductive & Sexual Health Program: Impact of Pilot Initiative in Madhya Pradeshnarendra@fpaindia.org
140.Rauyajin, Dr. OrataiSelf Care provides the conceptual framework:social-cultural determents rauyajino@searo.who.int
141.Prof.Ahmed Hamad Al Nory-alieltour@yahoo.com